Tuesday , 20 February 2018
You are here: Home » Government » Supreme Court of Pakistan
Supreme Court of Pakistan

Supreme Court of Pakistan

The Supreme Court of Pakistan was created under the constitution of 1956. It succeeded the Federal Court which was set up in 1948. The court was housed initially at Karachi and later on shifted to Lahore High Court building. In 1973 constitution the Supreme Court was provided a permanent seat in Islamabad.

chief justice of supreme court of Pakistan

Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry

Due to the lack of funds the construction did not take place right away. In 1974 the court shifted from Lahore to Rawalpindi and was housed in an improvised building which was called East Pakistan House. The Court shifted to its permanent land Islamabad after the completion of construction in December 1993 which was situated at Constitution Avenue in the Federal Capital. This covers a short history to how and where the Supreme Court started.

Each of the four provincial head quarters has the Court’s branch registries. The Court has benches that rotate between the principal seat and branch registries in order to dispose of cases with the legal power of the court; this has become a great relief to the litigant parties to have easy access to justice through branch registries which is closer to the place they live.

In the judicial hierarchy of Pakistan, the Supreme Court of Pakistan is the vertex court. It is the final supreme authority of legal and constitutional disputes in Pakistan. It has the appellate legal power over all high courts which include provincial high courts, district courts, special courts and federal courts as well.

The president after consulting the prime minister nominates the chief justice and a number of senior justices that makes the Supreme Court. The justices are expected to complete a given term and then retire once appointed.

Due to misconduct they can be removed by the supreme judicial council during their given term after receiving a presidential reference regarding it.

supreme court of pakistan


Given are the names of all the Chief justices of Pakistan since it was created.

1-      Justice Sir Abdul Rashid (chief justice, Federal court) from 7th June 1949 to 29 June 1954

2-      Justice Muhammad Munir (chief justice, federal Court) 29 June 1954 to 2 many 1960

3-      Justice Muhammad Shabuddin from 3 may 1960 to 12 may 1960

4-      Justice A.R.Cornelius from 13 may 1960 to 29 February 1968

5-      Justice Dr.S.A.Rahman from 1 March 1968 to 3 June 1968

6-      Justice Fazal Akbar from 4 June 1968 to 17 November 1968

7-      Justice Hamoodur Rahman 18 November 1968 to 31 October 1975

8-      Justice Muhammad Yaqub Ali from 1 November 1975 to 22 September 1977

9-      Justice S.Anwarul Haq from 23 September 1977 to 25 march 1981

10-  Justice Mohammad Haleem25march 1981 to 31 December 1989

11-  Justice Muhammad Afzal zullah from 1january 1990 to 18 April 1993

12-  Justice saad Saud Jan (Acting) 15 April 1994 to 4 June 1994

13-  Justice Sajjad Ali Shah from 5 June 1994 to 2 December 1997

14-  Justice Ajmal Mian from 23 December 1997 to 30 June 1999

15-  Justice saeed uzzaman siddiqui from 1 July 1999 to 26 January 2000(resigned)

16-  Justice Irshad Hassan Khan from 26 January 2000 to 6th January 2002

17-  Justice Bashir Jahangir from 7th January 2002 to 31 January 2002

18-  Justice Sheikh Riaz Ahmed from 1st February 2002 to 31 December 2003

19-  Justice Nazim Hussain siddiqi 31st December 2003 to 29 June 2005

20-  Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry from 30 June 2005 to 9th march 2007(suspended)

21-  Justice Javed Iqbal (acting) 9th march2007 to 24th march 2007

22-  Justice Rana Bhagwandas (acting) 24th march 2007 to 20th July 2007

23-    Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry (restored) 20 July 2007 to 3rd November 2007(terminated)

24 -Justice Hameed Dogar (defecto) 3rd November 2007 to 21st march 2009

25 -Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry 22 march 2009 (restored) incumbent.


Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top