Monday , 19 February 2018
You are here: Home » Education » Lahore College for Women University
Lahore College for Women University

Lahore College for Women University

The university that has been renowned for providing quality education in Pakistan. Lahore College for Woman University is a self-determining women’s university that is located in Lahore, Pakistan. In 1922, it was established as a women’s college. It is among the oldest female institutes. The university comprises almost 15,000 students and a teaching faculty of 500.


Students of Intermediate, bachelor’s level, masters and PHD levels are admitted here. Lahore College is ranked at no 15 by the Higher Education Commission of Pakistan. It is among the most esteemed institutions of our country. In 1990, there were only six areas that offered Master classes but LC after having University status offers degree to graduate, postgraduate and even to doctoral level. The institute offers 4 year B.S program in almost 31 subjects, 4 year B.S professional degree in Environmental Sciences, BFA, Computer Sciences, Home Economics, Business Administration, Electrical Engineering and 5 years Pharm-D.


More over their educational plan offers PHD program in Physics, Chemistry, Political science, Computer Science, Biology, Botany, Zoology, Punjabi, Islamic Studies, Urdu, Fine Arts, Economics, Bio-Technology and Environmental Sciences Electronics. The current Vice Chancellor of LC is PROF. DR. Sabiha Mansoor, a very honorable lady that struggled hard to take the university to hit the highest point. She is a qualified lady and has done PhD in Education and Master’s degree in TEFL from leading University, UK over and above she has gained Master’s degree in English Literature from Punjab University.



The college has recently established a Research Center in order to endow the students of the college with best facilities and services for advance search. Lahore College has also established a Quality Enhancement Cell (QEC) to pursue the National Action Plan for quality performance.


The university comprises three different types of libraries within it that includes HEC Digital Library, University Library and Book Bank. HEC Digital Library is a program that provide researchers of private universities in Pakistan the access to international scholarly based on electronic delivery where as University Library is the main library of the university that contains books, magazine publications and national news papers and Book bank is sustained by Social Work Department that provides textbooks to the deserving and needy students. Student’s societies and clubs are organized by University to facilitate co-curriculum activities and sports to the students, teachers have the opportunity to elect the presidents and secretaries of these societies.

About Bisma Umair

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top