Tuesday , 20 February 2018
You are here: Home » Government » Election 2013 Candidates
Election 2013 Candidates

Election 2013 Candidates

Elections have always been very important in any country to maintain a democratic system. In countries like Pakistan its significance increases more where democratic system is still in process to be established. Election 2013 are also important in this manner that the parliament has made history by completing its tenure. It’s for the first time in the history of Pakistan that National Assembly has completed its full term of five years.

election and voting pakistan

Now elections are to be held on 11 May 2013. There are 148 parties taking part in upcoming elections.  Total number of validly nominated candidates in respect of general seats in national and provincial assemblies is 23079, reserved seats for women is 812 and reserved seats for Non-Muslims is 237. Pakistan People’s Party (PPP),  Muslim league Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI), Pakistan Muslim league Quaid e Azam (PML-Q), Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), Awami National Party (ANP), Jamaat-e-Islami  (JI), Jamiat-e-Ulama-e-Islam F (JUI) and All Pakistan Muslim League (APML) are main stream Political parties that are taking part in elections.

bilawal chairman ppp

Pakistan Peoples party (PPP) was founded in 1967 by Mr.Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto who was its first chairman. He was president of Pakistan from 1971 to 1973 and elected prime minister from 1973 to 1977. He was later executed after being taken over by General Zia. Benazir Bhutto became life chairperson and was elected as first female prime minister of Pakistan in 1988. In 1993 she again became prime minister. After her assassination in 2007, party was handed over to her Son Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and her husband Asif Ali Zardi who are now running party as chairman and co-chairman.  Party creed is “Islam is our faith, democracy is our politics, socialism is our economy, all power to the people.”

pml n

Pakistan Muslim League N (PML-N) was founded in 1988 by Fida Muhammad Khan who was party’s president at that time whilst Nawaz Sharif was the general secretary who is now being leading the party. Nawaz sharif served as Prime minister of Pakistan from 1990 to 1993. In 1993 he resigned under pressure by Pak Armed Force. In 1997, party won the elections and Nawaz Sharif became prime minister once again until General Pervez Musharraf seized his government. Nawaz Sharif is again contesting for next Prime minister.

imran khan pti

Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf (PTI) was founded in 1996. Party slogan is “Justice, humanity and self esteem”. Cricket legend Imran khan is the party chairman and is contesting for prime minister.  Imran khan is also founder of a charity organization Shaukat Khanum memorial trust and Namal college.

mqm vote 2013

Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) is liberal political party that was founded by Altaf Hussain in 1984. He has a non-feudal based political philosophy and has introduced new trends in politics. Altaf Hussain started his political career in his student life when he founded All Pakistan Muhajir Student Organization (APMSO) in June 1978. In 1992, Altaf Hussain moved to London and because of the military operation, he could not return to Pakistan. However, he resides abroad but he keeps arranging public video conference speeches in Pakistan.

Jamaat e Islami (JI) was founded by a sociopolitical philosopher Maulana Modudi in 1941. Qazi Hussain Ahmad was party’s 3rd Ameer and is currently led by Syed Munawar Hassan.  Syed Munawar Hassan joined JI in 1967 and became secretary general in 1993.

Awami National Party (ANP) is a leftist party. It was founded in 1986 by Abdul wali khan and presently is led by Asfandyar wali khan, grandson of Bacha Khan. He started as a student activist, imprisoned in 1975 by government, and released in 1978. He did not participate in elections until 1990. In 2008, he was elected chairman of standing committee on foreign affairs.

86,189,802 voters from all over the Pakistan will vote for the nominated candidates who will further elect the prime minister of Pakistan.

Send SMS to 8300 to find your polling station to cast vote for elections 2013.

party flags

About Mutmainna Syed

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top